raspberry oatmeal bars

July 25, 2011 § 4 Comments

A group of my friends left last week for a bike trip across the state of Iowa, called RAGBRAI. I wanted to send them off with a little something they could snack on while on the road.  I searched through all of my favorite food blogs, and of course, smitten kitchen had exactly what I was looking for.

I altered the recipe a bit, by cutting back on the sugar and adding ground flax meal. I used whole wheat flour, which I cut back on, and added a little bit more oats. I wrapped each of the bars individually so they could be split up among the group.

I thought they turned out really yummy and the packaging was really cute. I think my friends liked them too.

Raspberry Oatmeal Bars (adapted from smitten kitchen)

Ingredients

crust and crumb:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup ground flax meal
  • 3/4 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 1/2  cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces (I used 1 cup coconut oil, 1/2 butter)

raspberry filling:

  • 1/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon zest
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 pound raspberries, fresh or frozen
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Use a 9 x 13 inch glass dish and line with parchment paper.

Put the flour, brown sugar, oats, ground flax meal, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon in a food processor. Pulse in short bursts until combined. Add the butter and pulse until loose crumbs form. (If you do not have a food processor, cut the butter into the dry micture with two forks, and use clean hands to combine and crumble a bit more.

Put about 1 1/2 cup of the mixture aside. Put the rest of the mixture pan and use your hands to push the crust into an even layer at the bottom of the pan. The crust should touch the sides of the pan. Bake until golden brown, 12 to 15 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let the crust cool. Keep the oven on while you make the raspberry filling.

Make the raspberry filling: In a medium bowl, whisk the sugar, lemon zest, cinnamon and flour together. Add the raspberries, lemon juice and butter and use your hands to toss gently until the raspberries are evenly coated.

Assemble and bake the bars: Spread the raspberry filling evenly on top of the cooled crust. Sprinkle the reserved crust mixture evenly on top of the filling.

Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, rotating the pan every 15 minutes.

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to raspberry oatmeal bars

  • Emily says:

    I really like how you used photos in this post. You have really cute plates by the way. I’m wondering if I could use blackberries instead of raspberries because I have a tree in my backyard, and it’s cheaper than buying a pound at the store.

    • sara alana says:

      Thanks! I think blackberries would be delicious and you can just substitute 1lb for the 1lb of raspberries. I hear you on going with what you got and what’s the cheapest.

      Let me know how they turn out!

  • niki says:

    yum! i’ll have to try those. smitten kitchen’s version of blueberry crumb bars is to die for (and super easy), if you ever have a hankering…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading raspberry oatmeal bars at sara alana.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

