kale salad

February 14, 2013 § 1 Comment

photo 1

I bought some really pretty kale. My original plan was to make kale chips for a work event, but then someone asked me to bake, so I made muffins instead. I needed to do something with this kale and I am glad I didn’t end up making chips, because eating it raw preserved the color.

photo 2

Kale Salad

Cut the stems off the kale. If there is a thick rib in the center, slice it out.

Place leaves on top of one another and roll up, 4 to 5 leaves at a time.

Slice the rolled up kale thinly, or julienne

Place the kale in a bowl and drizzle with olive oil and lemon juice.

Place some pine nuts on a skillet and toast on medium heat.

White the pine nuts are toasting, wash your hands and then massage the kale for 2 to 3 minutes. It’s fun.

Sprinkle with salt, pepper and parmesan cheese. Toss and top with the toasted pine nuts.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to kale salad

  • Jennifer says:

    My gosh, that’s BEAUTIFUL. I’m so silly. I always thought the purple ones were just for decoration. Of course, you can eat them!! What was I thinking? :P
    I’ll have to look for this kind next time. It’s just lovely. Thanks for posting it. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading kale salad at sara alana.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

