table for two


I’ve upgraded my menus over the past few days now that James has returned. I even…ate meat for the first time in a few weeks. I hate labeling myself or having to limit myself to something I may just want a little bit of, every once and a while. I probably eat meat once every few weeks, but having a steak once a month means I’m not a vegetarian. I don’t particularly crave meat, but every once in a while I feel like a ravenous wolf and I need some animal fat in me. I think if my body is telling me to eat some meat, my body probably knows what’s up and I’m going to listen to it. I have had low iron in the past and I don’t take a B12 supplement so when I want a burger, I eat a burger.

I could also get in some lengthy and heated conversations with people over the “food issue”. I agree, too many animal-based products may not be so good for our bodies. And, many of us know about the huge amounts of carbon emissions being created from meat production. But, I ask you this…Is it better for our bodies/the environment to be eating PROCESSED soy and other plant based products, that use excessive packaging and fossil fuels for transportation. Or is it better to eat local, organically raised beef, chicken, or buffalo once or twice a month? Think about it. Now don’t get me wrong, I love, love,  love, tofu. But, I won’t be caught dead eating a product like “Chickenless Nuggets”. I think the bests thing we can do for our bodies and the environment is to eat locally. It is much easier to avoid excess of anything this way and we are supporting our local farmers and economy.

I’ll step off my soap box for now. But, I will let you know that many of the ingredients used to make this delicious meal came from In Season Local Market. It’s an awesome little place in the Highlands that carries a nice selection of local produce, dairy, eggs, and yes, meat.

The Menu – Tapas for Two

Blue Cheese Stuffed Olives

Fresh Tomato and Basil Salad

Prosciutto Wrapped Honeydew

Goat Cheese and Herb Stuffed Mushrooms

Olives
Thank you Sunflower Market, these were a splurge.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Salad

Serves 2

2 fresh tomatoes of your choice (or the equivalent amount of cherry/grape tomatoes)

1 healthy handful of fresh basil leaves

salt

pepper

splash of olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Chop tomatoes and basil, season to taste with salt and pepper. Add the olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Swirl around and let the marinade for at least 15 minutes before eating. This can be make ahead as well. The more time the tomatoes get in the balsamic vinegar the better. But that’s just me, you do what you want.

Prosciutto Wrapped Melon

Serves 2

4 slices of honeydew melon. Vitamin Cottage has the most delicious organic melon on sale, right now!

4 slices of proscuitto, courtesy of In Season

Now this is complicated so follow along carefully. Take a slice of melon and wrap it around the prosciutto. The End. Got it? Did I lose you? If you want to get really fancy you could put a toothpick in it.

Goat Cheese and Pesto Stuffed Mushrooms

Serves 4

20 or so small mushrooms, white or crimini work well. I used Hazel Dell Mushrooms. Colorado pride.

1 package goat cheese

5 tablespoons Homemade Pesto (click here for the recipe I used)

olive oil

salt

pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Rinse and clean mushrooms and pat dry. Pop the stems off those bad boys. Drizzle olive oil over the bottom of a cookie sheet or shallow baking dish. Throw the mushrooms in the pan and toss them around, making sure they get coated in the olive oil. Flip the mushrooms over so the caps are facing us and season with salt and pepper, then flip them back over. In a small bowl mix the goat cheese and pesto with a fork. Place a spoonful or so of the goat cheese mixture inside each mushroom. Pop those babies in the oven for 15 minutes. You wont be sorry.

Enjoy this fine menu with a glass of chilled Sauvignon Blanc. Or, if you’re James, a PBR.

Bon appétit.

2 thoughts on “table for two

  1. SARA!!
    Everything looks sooo good! I would have to have a martini to throw those nice looking blue cheese stuffed olives (my favorite) in. James is one lucky guy! Look forward to seeing you both for Thanksgiving. I hear James parents are coming too. Nice!!! xoxox~ love ya

  2. ooh yes, martinis with blue cheese stuffed olives sound goooood! Thanksgiving will be fun, and yes James parents and siblings + significant others should be there. But how about our Vegas trip?

Leave a Reply

