quinoa, corn, and black bean salad

20110630-085034.jpg

I had some time to kill, waiting to bored my flight to NYC, so I thought I’d share this tasty and nutritious salad I made last weekend for a BBQ.

I have been eating a lot of quinoa since I found out I was anemic and needed to up my iron intake. I don’t crave meat that often, so I was interested in finding some other foods that were iron rich besides steak and chicken. Quinoa is also considered a “perfect protein”. I’m not exactly sure what that means, but it sounds good. I met with a nutritionist, who gave me a wide variety of vegetarian options that were high in iron. She said, “quinoa, black beans and veggies would be a perfect iron rich vegetarian meal”. Now I just needed to spice that up a bit.

We had a bunch of fresh corn from the Vail farmer’s market and I thought a southwestern style quinoa salad would be the perfect way to use it. Just cook the quinoa, grill or boil the corn, toss in a can of black beans, a few chopped tomatoes, and lots of fresh cilantro. Then, add a little more flavor with fresh squeezed lime juice, salt, fresh ground black pepper, chili powder, and cayenne pepper. Delicious and nutritious.

The salad paired perfectly with grilled shrimp and backyard mojitos.

Directions and ingredient details to come.

2 thoughts on “quinoa, corn, and black bean salad

  1. You are causing my mouth to water and I will be bugging u to prepare this. I think I am also anemic. Can u help ?
    luv M

Leave a Reply

